A new Michigan law, if passed by Governor Jennifer Granholm, could allow Michigan stores to sell liquor before noon on Sundays. The legislation would provide a $160 fee for stores to begin selling liquor at 7 A.M. on Sundays. Currently, Michigan stores pay $90 to sell liquor starting at noon on Sundays.
The bill, which was approved by both the House and Senate of Michigan, currently must be approved by Governor Granholm within the next 14 days in order to become a state law. The Governor, who apparently had vetoed portions of the bill in the past, still has concerns over the bill.
Many individuals support the bill because they feel it will help local businesses, however many are concerned about instituting the new law. (See prior On Reserve entry with respect to Blue Laws, titled The Wrath of Blue (Laws).) Some feel that, if the bill is passed into law, many other businesses (such as restaurants and golf courses) could begin selling liquor before noon on Sundays as well. Proponents, however, argue that there is no correlation between drunk driving and extended hours of liquor sales.
(Sources: Liquor Could be Sold Before Noon on Sundays if Granholm Passes New Law; andLiquor Industry ‘Excited’ About Sunday Morning Sales in Michigan, but Granholm has ‘Some Concerns’ About Proposed Legislation.)
DISCLAIMER: This blog post is not intended as legal advice, and no attorney-client relationship results. Please consult your own attorney for legal advice.